Florida Road trip: Travel to Miami to see the street art museum at Wynwood Walls

Welcome back for the second half of our road trip home from Key West to Fort Myers, Florida. After we left our beachside drinks in Marathon, FL. we decided to break up the 5-hour drive and go on an adventure in Miami. I did some research on the area and read about a place called Wynwood Walls. It was 2.5 hours from Marathon, so it was the perfect halfway point to get out and stretch our legs. I read that they had amazing wall murals and street art, so Kyle and I were excited to check it out. The moment we arrived we knew this place was not going to disappoint. Wynwood Walls is the world’s largest Street Art Museum and a must see!

Even Mr. Incredible woke up from his nap to take a peek at the street art.

From the moment we arrived in the streets of Miami, we were surrounded by beautiful street art and wall murals. It seemed like every business was covered in bright, vibrant, artistic designs. I fell in LOVE with the design dripping off of the Sweetgreen restaurant. It was so mesmerizing. (It reminded me of the of the tie-dyed t-shirts my daughter and I used to make when she was younger.) I almost bought a salad from their cafe just so I could look inside but I was too excited to get to the Wynwood Walls to explore. Darn, I had to skip the vegetables this time. Sorry Mom.

Walking down the streets of Miami was an event all by itself. This place is fascinating. It had a vibe about it that made me feel like I was one of the cool kids again. This place was “fire” as teenagers say. Everywhere you turn there is something interesting to look at. I think I must have stopped 20 times just to appreciate all of the street art decorating what seemed like every building as far as the eye could see. There is even artwork on the sidewalks and street signs. Just remember to watch where you walk. I saw a lady almost faceplant into a road sign because she wasn’t paying attention to her surroundings.

PRO TIP: Always remember to have situational awareness wherever you travel. Watch your surroundings and look up from your phone. Pay attention to the people and things around you. (Free advice from a veteran police officer.) I felt safe here but there were a lot of young people moving about in large groups on bicycles, so being situationally aware is always important.

This was my absolute FAVORITE wall mural in Miami, Florida. It was created by the artist named: Farid Rueda. Here is their story: farid rueda – wynwood-walls (thewynwoodwalls.com)

TICKETS: We pre-purchased our tickets online for $12 per person. According to their website Wynwood Walls offers discounts for students, military and seniors. (link is below)

PRO TIPS:

  • Children under the age of 12 are FREE.
  • Get there early, as there was a long line to get in.
  • Plan to stay for a couple hours. There is A LOT to see.

Once we arrived, we entered through the Welcome Center at 266 NW 26th Street. The amazing artwork was everywhere we looked. This place is awe-inspiring! It is described as an outdoor museum of international street art made by hundreds of artists who represent over 20 countries. Wynwood Walls reminded me of the road trip vacation I took with my daughter Angel to Mural Fest in Canada. (Maybe that will be my next blog.)

I loved this sign so much that I bought stickers of it at the gift shop and put it on my laptop.

Once we passed through the welcome center and walked outside, I had instant butterflies. This place was magical. I don’t know where my fondness for murals and street art came from, especially considering I have no artistic ability, but I LOVE murals. Kyle loves them too. Can you believe that a 15-year-old boy obsessed with video games and football actually LOVED the artistry of these murals? Being emersed in the vibrant street art makes you feel like anything is possible and that anyone can be an artist. Heck, we even got a chance to try our hand at street art! (More to come on that…)

The details in the artwork were incredible!
They also had some really interesting art installations.

We spent hours looking at these spectacular creations. They have an indoor gallery with some awesome artwork you can actually purchase. Well….if you have a lot of money. It is pricey! But worth checking out.

As we walked around, we spotted the “Official Street Art Experience”. Let me tell you when the host said, “Would you like to try creating street art?” Kyle and I BOTH emphatically shouted “YESSSSSSSS!!” He pointed to a table full of spray paint with every color of the rainbow and told us to pick a color and any place on the wall to start creating. We didn’t wait a second before shaking up the paint can and putting our artwork on those walls. (See photos below.)

Let’s just say, Kyle and I made our mark on EVERY WALL possible!

It was cool to think about how all of the artwork that was created today would be buffed out and new artist would be spray painting their own masterpieces tomorrow. I truly believe this was one of the coolest things we have ever done on a road trip.

He ran out of purple spray paint, but it still looked awesome.
I had to represent the family “CampFrith”

If you would like to see more of our adventures, FOLLOW US on TikTok. CampFrithAdventures (@campfrithadventures) | TikTok

We left covered in paint and full of pure joy. What an amazing experience. Kyle was so inspired by what we saw. These artists have real talent. After looking around you exit through the gift shop where you can guy clothing, stickers and other merchandise with the artwork from Wynwood Walls on it. Kyle decided to buy a street art covered bucket hat to wear home.

Here’s info on the Official Street Art Experience:

Product Details – Official Street Art Experience (thewynwoodwalls.com)

I’m not sure who had the coolest hat, but my vote is for Kyle.

This was one experience that we will never forget and would love to repeat. Wynwood Walls was definitely worth the trip. If you are ever in Miami, or on a road trip near there, this is definitely a great place to stop while on vacation. We WILL be back.

Until next time friends, I hope you find what makes you happy and travel often. Afterall, life is short, and it is meant to me LIVED. So get out there and explore!

Safe travels.

Jen

If you are interested in visiting Wynwood Walls, here is the website:

home – wynwood-walls (thewynwoodwalls.com)

2 responses to “Florida Road trip: Travel to Miami to see the street art museum at Wynwood Walls”

  1. [Hi|Hey There|Hello]
    Wynwood Walls is an amazing place to visit if you’re looking for street art, wall murals, and amazing artwork. Love the photos you took. Definitely check it out if I’m in the Miami area!
    [Thanks again|Thank you|Appreciate the post]
    Roberta
    http://www.robertahill.com

    Like

    1. Thank you for sharing the love! I really appreciate your comment. Wynwood Walls is definitely worth the trip.
      Safe travel!
      Jen

      Like

Leave a comment